Breakfast is the New Dinner

crepes

My elementary school had various methods of torture, such as homework and assigned seating and lunch worker duty, but the worst was how early it started. Shipping a child off to school at eight in the morning and handing them a sharp, pointy object like a pencil is not a good idea. The early attendance also left little room for a full breakfast, and most of my mornings started with either toast or cereal. This wasn’t a bad thing, but it meant that I didn’t even know pancakes were technically a breakfast food until I was eight years old.

My family likes to eat breakfast foods for dinner. Not only are most breakfast items fairly easy to put together, but they are absolutely delicious. Muffins, pancakes, waffles, hash browns…I ate them for dinner long before I ate them for breakfast. I think I nearly had a heart attack the first time I slept over at a friend’s house and discovered that eggs are a legitimate option for an early-morning meal.

Those who know me know that I’m a very picky eater, but breakfast has always been an exception. I eat most breakfast foods, so breakfast is my safe-haven when it comes to eating out because I know I’ll have a wide range of food to choose from. If I was held at gunpoint and forced to eat only one meal a day, breakfast would have to be it. Sorry lunch and dinner, but breakfast and I share a special bond. I will miss my between-classes snack breaks, though. There’s nothing more fun than frantically eating a bag of corn nuts in your car because it is lunchtime but you thought that taking back to back classes throughout all of noon was a good idea.

Spoiler alert: it’s not.

One problem that comes with my breakfast for dinner habit is that when I actually do eat breakfast items for dinner, then my entire schedule gets mixed up. I know that it’s seven in the morning but the breakfast burrito in my hands suggests that it should be seven at night and my stomach is freaking out because this is not it’s regularly scheduled breakfast program of Rice Crispies and cinnamon toast.

Cereal

I usually adjust after the first few bites, but there are a few foods that I just can’t seem to bring myself to eat in the morning. Namely, pancakes.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love pancakes. But about 90 percent of my pancake-eating experiences have taken place between five and eight at night, and when I try to shift that to the morning, I just don’t really have a desire to eat them. It’s strange, because although they taste good, I just don’t get as excited over that forkful of syrup-soaked goodness in the morning as I would later in the day. Which is absolutely horrible because when the relative I’m visiting takes their time to make delicious pancakes for me, I feel like I can’t fully appreciate it.

It’s not all breakfast food; there are some dinner foods that I just can’t stomach before the sun is high in the sky. Frozen pizza, for example (or heated pizza. Actually, just pizza in general). I’ve met a few people in life who absolutely love nothing more than to take leftover pizza from the night before and use it to start their day. This may just be me personally, but the thought of pizza in the morning makes me shudder. After twelve, and okay, I’ll join your pizza party. But no sooner.

People might think the same of me for eating a blueberry muffin at night, but I just have to shrug them off. Breakfast for dinner was how I was raised, and that’s how I plan to stay.

Besides, I can think of no better way to end the day (or a blog post) than with a plate full of bacon.

giphy

Leave a Reply

